Teacher of the Year announced tonight

Tonight’s the big night, the 2014 Sioux Falls School District Teacher of the Year will be announced tonight at a desert reception, beginning at 6:30. Here are the finalists:

Maureen Bland, First Grade - Lowell Elementary

Allison Carlson, 8th Grade Science - Patrick Henry Middle School

Sarah Henrichs, 6-8 Cluster Lang. Arts- Axtell Park Middle School

Holly Hofer, Second Grade- Robert Frost Elementary

Jessica Pomerenke, Math – Geometry- Roosevelt High School

Jacqueline Wilber, Speech/Debate- Roosevelt High School

The winner receives the honor of being the Teacher of the Year (of course), and $4,000 in cash, courtesy of Vern Eide Motorcars.

I’ll be there and will tweet the winner as soon as it’s announced. Follow me @Argus_BWisch. There will also be a story online tonight in tomorrow’s Argus.